Historical Markers StoppingPoints.com Historical Markers, Sightseeing & Points of Interest Scenic Roads & Points of Interest
About Us | Photo Gallery | Free Widgets | Featured States | Search Site
Register or Edit LoginRegister
Home Texas Tarrant County Fort Worth Congregation Ahaveth Shalon

Congregation Ahaveth Shalon

  Texas Historical Markers
4050 S. Hulen St., Fort Worth, TX, USA

Latitude & Longitude: 32° 41' 19.1436", -97° 23' 39.42978"
    Texas State
Historical Marker
     Recognized as Fort Worth's first Jewish congregation, Congregation Ahavath Sholom, meaning Love of Peace, was organized in 1892. William Goldstein served as its first president. The first synagogue, a wooden structure built in 1893 and located at the corner of Hemphill and Jarvis Streets, was relocated to downtown Fort Worth (819 Taylor Street) in 1901. Subsequent growth in the congregation's membership led to the construction of a brick structure at the Taylor site in 1906. An adjoining building, which housed the congregation's Hebrew Institute, was built in 1914. The Institute's Ladies Auxiliary, organized in 1915, sponsored a Sunday school and assisted charity organizations. Mrs. Sam Rosen was its first president. The Institute served as a community center for military personnel during World Wars I and II. The Men's Club, organized in 1944 with Maurice Rabinowtz as president, develops cultural, social, and athletic interests. A new synagogue, erected at the corner of 8th and Myrtle Streets, was dedicated in 1952. A synagogue was constructed at this site in 1980. Although the location of the synagogue has changed, it continues to be the focal point for the religious observances of the congregation. (1993)

This page last updated: 7/15/2008

Congregation Ahaveth Shalon Historical Marker Location Map, Fort Worth, Texas