| Kentucky native and cattleman Julian N. Kimberlin (1848-1932) donated five acres of land here in 1880 to the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, for Grange hall, church, school, and burial purposes. The first recorded burial was that of Wilson B. Westerman in 1881. Although a local Grange chapter evidently never was organized, a building was erected by 1885 that served as a school and sanctuary for the Fairview community. By the time the church building was destroyed by a storm in 1913 the Fairview Methodist Church was no longer active. the community erected a new building several miles south of the cemetery near the community of Oak Dale. The new structure, known as Oak Dale Church, housed Fairview School and served as a non-denominational church building. In 1928-29 Fairview citizens erected a new chapel adjacent to the cemetery. The building became the site for religious and funeral services and special events for a number of denominations in the area. The Perpetual Care Fairview Cemetery presently contains more than 300 burials. Among the people interred here are many of the pioneer settlers of the area and their descendants and Civil War veteran C. C. Choate. (1995) Sesquicentennial of Texas Statehood 1845-1995 |
This page last updated: 7/15/2008
Fairview Church and Cemetery Historical Marker Location Map, Mt. Vernon, Texas
Related Themes: Texas C.S.A., Texas Confederate States of America, Confederacy, Texas Cemetery Markers, Cemeteries, Texan Graveyards,
Burial Grounds and Graves
Explore other historical Texas Cemeteries.
View other Texas Confederate Historical Markers