Historical Markers StoppingPoints.com Historical Markers, Sightseeing & Points of Interest Scenic Roads & Points of Interest
About Us | Photo Gallery | Free Widgets | Featured States | Search Site
Register or Edit LoginRegister
Home Texas Bexar County San Antonio Central Catholic High School

Central Catholic High School

  Texas Historical Markers
1403 N. St. Mary's St., San Antonio, TX, USA

Latitude & Longitude: 29° 27' 7.0992", -98° 29' 12.3"
    Texas State
Historical Marker
    This school originated at a time when San Antonio lacked a boys' school of any kind. Bishop Jean-Marie Odin obtained teachers in France from the Society of Mary: Nicholas Koenig, Jean-Baptiste Laignauz, and Xavier Mauclerc. Andrew Edel, another Marianist from Ohio, was principal; San Antonio Layman Timothy O'Neal also joined the Staff. The school opened Aug. 26, 1852, in two rooms over a livery stable near San Fernando Cathedral. During the winter the brothers erected a building near the San Antonio River. St. Mary's Institute occupied that campus on March 1, 1853, and finished the school year with 100 pupils of various creeds. Enrolled as day students were Anglo-, French-, German-, and Mexican-Americans. South Texas ranch boys attended as boarders. After expanding that building, the brothers erected others, including a four-story skyscraper unique for the 1870s. St. Mary's University of San Antonio was one outgrowth of the 1852 Brothers' School. After several changes of names and facilities, Central Catholic High School in 1932 became the succesor of the pioneer effort, and is now revered as the oldest and the largest private boy's school in Texas.

This page last updated: 7/15/2008

Central Catholic High School Historical Marker Location Map, San Antonio, Texas