Historical Markers StoppingPoints.com Historical Markers, Sightseeing & Points of Interest Scenic Roads & Points of Interest
About Us | Photo Gallery | Free Widgets | Featured States | Search Site
Nevada Historical Marker

Churchill County Courthouse

Nevada State Historical Marker
      When Churchill County, created by the Territorial Legislature in 1861 but attached to Lyon County for judicial and revenue purposes, was made a distinct county in 1864, La Plata was selected as the county seat. In 1868, it was moved to Stillwater, where it remained until Fallon was founded in 1902. The Churchill County Courthouse was constructed in 1903 on property donated by Warren and Addie Williams and John Oats. Contractor W.B. Wyrick built the wood building for $7300 from plans and specifications by Reno architect Ben Leon. The building was completed and accepted by County Commissioners F.L. Small, Charles L. Allen and E.S. Harriman on February 2, 1904. The building has been in continuous use since that time.