Historical Markers StoppingPoints.com Historical Markers, Sightseeing & Points of Interest Scenic Roads & Points of Interest
About Us | Photo Gallery | Free Widgets | Featured States | Search Site
Register or Edit LoginRegister
Home Texas Hays County San Marcos The Old Lime Kiln

The Old Lime Kiln

  Texas Historical Markers
San Marcos, TX, USA

Latitude & Longitude: 29° 56' 10.91829000012", -97° 55' 18.04289999988"
    Texas State
Historical Marker
     This site near the source of the San Marcos River was part of the Thomas J. Chambers grant of 1834. The tract was sold in 1848 to Gen. Edward Burleson (1798-1851), military and political leader in early Texas, who built a cabin nearby. A later owner, former Confederate Major W. O. Hutchison (1834-1900), sold 47.5 acres to J. J. Belger and James D. Cahill in 1887. They erected this brick and rock kiln, in which limestone was burned to produce lime for agriculture and construction. The operation ceased by 1910, when cheaper lime became available. The site is now (1976) owned by the Brown School. Incise in base: Marker Sponsors: Boy Scouts of America, Troop Number 112

This page last updated: 7/15/2008

The Old Lime Kiln Historical Marker Location Map, San Marcos, Texas

Related Themes: Texas C.S.A., Texas Confederate States of America, Confederacy
Explore other