| Organized in 1851, three years after the creation of Williamson County, San Gabriel Lodge No. 89 was chartered in January 1852 with John T. Cox, a Methodist minister from South Carolina, as worshipful master. The lodge grew rapidly with the new county seat. An Eastern Star chapter was formed and met in the Masonic Lodge. San Gabriel Lodge No. 89 assisted in laying the cornerstone for the State Capitol building in Austin in 1885. The lodge has long been involved in such Williamson County matters as public education, its members serving on the board of education as well as in the roles of superintendents, teachers and patrons. One hundred and forty-eight years after its inception, San Gabriel Lodge No. 89 continues in the traditions of its founders. (1999) |
This page last updated: 7/15/2008
|StoppingPoints.com Editorial on San Gabriel Lodge No. 89, A. F. & A. M.:|
|One of the earlier buildings apparently used by the San Gabriel Lodge is located on the Georgetown courthouse square, at 701 Main Street, at the corner of East 7th.|
This building is one of the most distinctive in Texas, topped off dramatically with an onion dome — an architectural element common to Eastern Europe, particularly found with Russion Orthodox churches. Masonic symbology is sometimes inspired by Middle Eastern elements, and the minarets which grace many Islamic mosques often have onion domes as well, though the one on this building much more resembles the Eastern European variety.
This building was originally constructed in 1900 and has been renovated in 2003. The building also has cut stone arches, a marble lobby, and an exterior stonework frieze which includes the iconic Mason symbol of the G within compass and dividers.
San Gabriel Lodge No. 89, A. F. & A. M. Historical Marker Location Map, Georgetown, Texas
Related Themes: Texas Freemasons, Masonic Lodges, Freemasonry, Ancient Free & Accepted Masons
See more markers related to Texas Freemasonry.