| The first interment here was in 1870, but that grave was later moved. Oldest graves now are those of twin infants E. and P. J. Sheet, who died Feb. 9, 1871, and Synthia Green, who died August 9, 1871. R. M. and W. J. Graham and F. M. Reed gave the land to the Methodist Episcopal Church South in 1876 as a site for a church, school, and cemetery. One of the 826 graves here is that of Nathaniel Addison (1811-1900), a veteran of the Texas Revolution. The Salem Cemetery Association, organized in 1904, is still active, but the church was closed in 1913, and the school consolidated with Irene in 1917. |
This page last updated: 7/15/2008
Salem Cemetery Historical Marker Location Map, Irene, Texas
Related Themes: Texas Cemetery Markers, Cemeteries, Texan Graveyards,
Burial Grounds and Graves
Explore other historical Texas Cemeteries.