In 1937, Guy U. Robinson led his neighbors to petition the county for a new common school district, in part to protest high school taxes in Strawn. Leo Ankenbauer sold two acres of land to school trustees, and craftsmen Bill Roberson and W. Proctor of Strawn completed this one-room, red brick schoolhouse in time for classes to begin in September 1937. Darker brick at the corners and around the windows and the door provide some ornament to the simple vernacular structure. In use only until 1943, when the number of pupils declined to two, Robinson School is a unique reminder of the county's rural educational history. Recorded Texas Historic Landmark - 2001
Copyright © StoppingPoints.com, 2010. All Rights Reserved.