| Lost Creek Cemetery The original Hog Creek Cemetery was established in the 1870s, about one-half mile southwest of this site; after only two burials, the community chose to relocate, reportedly because of the rocky soil there. J. W. Graves (d. 1874) was the first person buried at this location, then owned by H.C. Hancock. Area residents continued to use the site and, in 1892, J.C. Hensley (Henslee) and his wife, L.E., deeded it to Brown County for cemetery and church purposes. A chapel was constructed by 1932, and the Hog Creek Cemetery Association organized in 1949, later changing its name, and that of the cemetery, to Lost Creek. |
This page last updated: 7/15/2008
Lost Creek Cemetery Historical Marker Location Map, May, Texas
Related Themes: Texas Cemetery Markers, Cemeteries, Texan Graveyards,
Burial Grounds and Graves
Explore other historical Texas Cemeteries.