| Archibald and Mary Greathouse, who settled in this area in 1848, gave their name to a creek and rural community that grew up here. The church, school, and cemetery that formed the focal point of community life were located on land deeded later by Martin Judy Dawson and George W Whitefield. John Edward Dawson hauled lumber from Waxahachie by oxcart to erect the Greathouse Missionary Baptist Church building. Other early church leaders included Martin Judy Dawson, Jr., Caswell R. Tirey, and Thomas A. Tirey. The Rev. John Bailey was the first pastor. In the 1890s, a school was begun in the church building. Oldest known grave in the cemetery is that of Nancy Caroline Sims (1828-1881). When the railroad reached nearby Maypearl in 1904, many residents moved there and Greathouse began to decline. The school closed in 1912 and the church about 1927. The frame building was razed in 1958. A cemetery association, formed in 1974, maintains the burial ground. This community produced four christian ministers: the Rev. Joseph M Dawson (1879-1973), a prominent Baptist leader; the Rev. Everett H. Tirey; the Rev. J.W. Whitefield, Jr.; and the Rev. Austin Woodard. Another resident, Judge Jake Tirey, served on the Texas Court of Civil Appeals. |
This page last updated: 7/15/2008
Greathouse Community, Church, and Cemetery Historical Marker Location Map, Texas
Related Themes: Texas Baptist Churches, Texas Cemetery Markers, Cemeteries, Texan Graveyards,
Burial Grounds and Graves
Explore other historical Texas Cemeteries.