Historical Markers StoppingPoints.com Historical Markers, Sightseeing & Points of Interest Scenic Roads & Points of Interest
About Us | Photo Gallery | Free Widgets | Featured States | Search Site
Register or Edit LoginRegister
Home Texas Washington County Independence Baylor University, Female Department

Baylor University, Female Department

  Texas Historical Markers
Independence, TX, USA

Latitude & Longitude: 30° 18' 54.657792", -96° 21' 9.271332"
    Texas State
Historical Marker
    On this site stood the Female Department of Baylor University incorporated under the laws of the , February 1, 1845; Henry L. Graves, first president, was elected January 12, 1846; Preparatory Department for Boys and Girls was opened May 18, 1846 with H. F. Gillett as teacher; Rufus C. Burleson became president in 1851; in 1886 when Baylor University moved to Waco and consolidated with Waco University; the Female Department moved to Belton and now bears the name of Mary Hardin-Baylor College

This page last updated: 7/15/2008

Image Gallery

Baylor University, Female Department Historical Marker Location Map, Independence, Texas