Originally called Neville's Prairie Cemetery, this graveyard was renamed Antioch Cemetery in 1890 when the Village of Neville's Prairie became known as Antioch after a post office was established. The community had disappeared by the 1930s. The earliest documented burial in the cemetery is that of David Houston (1801-1870). Included among the more than 1,000 graves are internments of slaves and pioneer settlers. Maintained by the Antioch Cemetery Association, this graveyard stands as a reminder of Houston County's early history.
Copyright © StoppingPoints.com, 2010. All Rights Reserved.